Omitir los comandos de cinta
Saltar al contenido principal
Inicio de sesión

English overview Skip Navigation Linksinicio English Version

English Version

English Version


The history of Universidad Cooperativa de Colombia started in 1958 when a group of coperativists led by the brothers Henry and Rymel Serrano Uribe and Mr. Carlos Uribe Garzón decided to work on the development of solidarity economy, particularly on the cooperative movement, based on the instruction of adults on this doctrine. This is why; it was created the Moses Michael Coady Institute on behalf of the cooperative priest who was one of the pioneers of cooperative education in his country.

Later, in 1961, the Moses Michael Coady Institute becomes Instituto de Economía Social y Cooperativismo– INDESCO (Social Economy and Cooperativism Institute); afterwards Superintendencia Nacional de Cooperativas (National Cooperative Direction), years after DANCOOP, then DANSOCIAL. Finally, by means of Resolution 4156 from 1963 the Unidad Administrativa Especial de Organizaciones Solidarias (Special Administrative Unit of Solidarity Organizations) granted an operating license to the “Instituto de Economía Social y Cooperativismo”.

Thanks to the actions implemented towards the development of the cooperative movement in the 60’s, not only on the field of instruction, but also in consultancy, the Superintendencia Nacional de Cooperativas, by means of the Resolution 00559 of 1968, recognizes the Instituto de Economía Social y Cooperativismo– INDESCO as a supporting institution from cooperativism rooted in Bogotá, Colombia.

The Superintendencia Nacional de Cooperativas, by means of the Resolution 0501 of 1974, recognize the legal entity of the Universidad Cooperativa – INDESCO.

El Ministerio de Educación Nacional (The Ministry of National Education), by means of the Resolution 24195 of 1983, recognizes the Corporación Instituto Universitario de Economía Social y Cooperativismo “INDESCO” (Social Economy and Cooperativism University-Institute-Corporation) as a university rooted in the city of Bogotá.

The Political Constitution of 1991 and the Law 30 of 1992, which reforms higher education in the country, provided a very important opportunity for solidarity institutions as alternatives for social transformation and democratization of property and the delivery of services.

Since de beginning of the decade of the 90’s, the Universidad Cooperativa de Colombia consolidated five local sections: Bogotá as the main location, Medellín, Barrancabermeja, Santa Marta and Bucaramanga. Thanks to the participation of different political and civic leaders of regions, it was possible to create different regional branches in national territory; in the Caribbean coast, in Montería and Apartadó; in the center of the country, in Pereira, Cartago, Espinal and Ibagué, in the east, in Arauca and Villavicencio; in the south Pasto, in Popayán, Cali, Neiva and in the pacific region, in Quibdó.

The National Minister of Education by means of the Resolution 1850 of 2002, recognized Universidad Cooperativa de Colombia, its origin and its legal nature as an institution of solidarity economy, according to the recognition stated by DANCOOP by means of the Resolution 0501 of May 7th, 1974 and certified by the Superintendencia de la Economía Solidaria on July 22nd, 2002 by means of the Certification 066.

Universidad Cooperativa de Colombia continues to move forward to excellence and the institutional accreditation, strengthening its relations in the country and worldwide, providing the physical and technological infrastructure, innovating in the teaching and learning processes, in order to fulfill the instructional needs from people in the different parts of the country where the University has its presence. We are committed with the idea of building a better country for all; we are “One university for a whole country”.